PhotonIcs and Electromagnetics Research Symposium, also known as Progress In Electromagnetics Research Symposium
Featured Plans

PIERS —— A global symposium committed to
advancing photonics and electromagnetics for the benefit of humanity.

1_FocusSession.SC1: Casimir Effect and Radiative Heat Transfer

Session Organizers

Mauro Antezza
Universite de Montpellier
Matthias Krüger
Georg-August-Universitat Gottingen

Session Chairs

Session Infomation

This workshop concerns the field of quantum electrodynamics and light-matter interaction, in particular the topics: open quantum systems, fluctuation induced Casimir-Lifshitz forces in and out of thermal equilibrium, radiative heat transfer, and quantum thermodynamics. It will focus on the cut-edge theoretical and experimental findings in the field, with the aim of boosting these emerging research fields toward a deeper fundamental and applicative development. It will tackle, among others, new emerging themes related to quantum thermalization mechanisms, quantum thermal machines, entanglement, metamaterials, light harvesting complexes, thermophotovoltaic cells, and active or soft matter.

List (partial) of invited speakers who already accepted the invitation:

  1. H.B. Chan (HKUST, Hong Kong)
  2. R. Decca (IUPUI - USA)
  3. C. Henkel (University of Potsdam, Germany)
  4. J. Munday (University of California - Davis, USA)
  5. M. Silveirinha (Istituto Superior Técnico– Portugal)
  6. P. Ben-Abdallah (Institute d’Optique – CNRS, France)
  7. M. Rubi (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
  8. L. Woods (University of South Florida, USA)
  9. F. Giazotto (SNS Pisa, Italy)
  10. I. Bondarev (North Carolina Central University, USA)
  11. S. Scheel (Universität Rostock, Germany)
  12. K. Milton (University of Oklahoma, USA)
  13. P. Maia Neto (UFRJ, Brasil)
  14. S.-A. Biehs (Carl von Ossietzky Universität, Germany)
  15. G. De Chiara (Queen’s University – Belfast, UK)
  16. A. Manjavacas (University of New Mexico, USA)
  17. P.-O. Chapuis (CETHIL – CNRS, France)
  18. S. Merabia (Institut Lumière Matière – CNRS, France )
  19. S. Volz (LIMMS - CNRS, France/Japan)
  20. T. Emig (CNRS, France)
  21. X. Wu (Shandong Institute of Advanced Technology, China)
  22. C.-L. Zhou (HIT, China)
  23. J.-S. Wang (NUS, Singapore)
  24. A. Rodriguez (Princeton University, USA)
  25. S. Edalatpour (University of Maine, USA)
  26. N. Khusnutdinov (UF-ABC, Brazil)
  27. K. Sinha (Arizona State University, USA)
  28. K. Asheichyk (Belarusian State University, Belarus)
  29. P. Menguc (Ozyegin University, Turkey)
  30. J. Ordonez (CNRS, France)
  31. F. Banfi (University of Lyon, France)
  32. P. Rodriguez (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain)
  33. B. Zhao (University of Huston, USA)
  34. W. Boxiang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  35. V. Esteso (LENS, Italy)
  36. R. Esquivel (National University of Mexico, Mexico)
  37. P. Schall (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  38. M. He (HIT, China)
  39. A. Callegari (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
  40. M. Boström (University of Oslo, Norway)
  41. R. Passante (University of Palermo, Italy)
  42. E. Tervo (University of Wisconsin-Medison, USA)
  43. K. Shi (Zhejiang University, China)
  44. E. Nefzaoui (University Gustave Eiffel, France)
  45. L. Rizzuto (University of Palermo, Italy)
  46. I. Latella (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
  47. Z. Zhang (University of North Texas, USA)
  48. S. Buhmann (University of Kassel, Germany)


For more information contact the session organizers: M. Antezza ( and M. Krüger (

Submitted Articles

Note: The following submitted articles are not guaranteed to be scheduled in the final program at this stage. The final presentation type and arranged session will be decided by Technical Program Committee.
Presenting Author Talk Time Paper Title | Authors | Abstract Session Date / Room
Near-field Quantum Electrodynamics of Optical Metasurfaces
*Igor V. Bondarev (North Carolina Central University)
[View Abstract]


Heat Radiation and Transfer with Cylindrical Waveguides
*Kiryl Asheichyk (Belarusian State University) Matthias Krüger (Georg-August-Universitat Gottingen)
[View Abstract]


Tunable Critical Casimir Forces Counteract Casimir-Lifshitz Attraction
*Agnese Callegari (University of Gothenburg) Falko Schmidt (University of Gothenburg) Abdallah Daddi-Moussa-Ider (Max-Planck-Institut für Dynamik und Selbstorganisation) Battulga Munkhbat (Technical University of Denmark) Ruggero Verre (Chalmers University of Technology) Timur Shegai (Chalmers University of Technology) Mikael Käll (Chalmers University of Technology) Hartmut Löewen (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf) Andrea Gambassi (SISSA --- International School for Advanced Studies and INFN) Giovanni Volpe (University of Gothenburg)
[View Abstract]


The limits of fluctuation phenomena
*Alejandro W. Rodriguez (Princeton University)
[View Abstract]


From Characterization of Particles to Near-field Machining and Energy Harvesting
*M. Pinar Mengüç (Ozyegin University)
[View Abstract]


Casimir-Polder Force and Torque for Anisotropic Molecules
Mauro Antezza (Universite de Montpellier) Ignat V. Fialkovsky (Universidade Federal do ABC) *Nail Khusnutdinov (Universidade Federal do ABC)
[View Abstract]


Nonlinearity and Anisotropy Interplay in van der Waals Interactions
*Lilia M. Woods (University of South Florida)
[View Abstract]



Contact us

Inquiry about paper submission, registration, and program schedule, please email to:

Usually, inquiry to PIERS OFFICE will be replied within 1-2 working days. If you cannot get reply timely, please keep trying both emails, or change another email account to contact us to avoid the unpredictable email correspondence problem between us.